Rotary Club of Luyang

About Us

About Us

Club History

When a group of Rotarians from Rotary Club of Lu Chu, Taiwan ROC came to Sabah, led by a member who was also a former Past President of Lu Chu Junior Chamber looking for a sister club in Kota Kinabalu, an idea surfaced. Why don’t we form a new Rotary Club in Kota Kinabalu with some of the past Jaycees, especially those from Kota Kinabalu Junior Chamber who are now in the Rotary Clubs. 

With the approval and encouragement given by them their District Governor, PP Datuk George Ginibun, a protem committee was formed by protem President, Rotarian Vincent Wong from Rotary Club of Kota Kinabalu South, PP Rtn Christopher Ng from Rotary Club of Likas Bay and Rtn Chin Kah Thing from the Rotary Club of Kota Kinabalu. 

With about 20 other friends, a few meetings were held. The new Club was sponsored by Rotary Club of Kota Kinabalu South, under the presidency of Rtn Dr. Garnesh. After a period of 2 months of weekly gathering on Thursday evening from 6.00 to 7.00 pm followed by dinner and fellowship, the Rotary Club of Luyang was finally chartered by Rotary International on 18th June, 1997 and the Club was incorporated with the Registrar of Societies on 2nd March, 1998. 

After 4 years of coming into existence in 2000, we can proudly say that the Rotary Club of Luyang is on a firm footing, with membership showing an increase from 25 to 38. As envisioned, the Rotary Club of Lu Chu is now our sister club. The Rotary Club of Luyang has also sponsored the formation of the Interact Club of Shan Tao in 1997 and the Rotaract Club of Luyang in 1998. 

Sponsored Organization 
  • 03 Oct 1997 Interact Club of Sekolah Menengah Shan Tao 
  • 22 Dec 2015 Rotaract Club of Inti College Sabah 
  • 10 Feb 2016 Rotary Community Corps of Karamunsing 
  • 12 Nov 2016 Rotary Community Corps of Kudat 
  • 13 Nov 2018 Rotary Community Corps of Bukit Padang 
  • 04 Mar 2019 Rotary Community Corps of Moyog (co-sponsored with RC Penampang) 
Memorandum of Sisterhood
  • 26 Feb 1998 Rotary Club of LuChu, D3510, Taiwan R.O.C 
  • 26 Apr 1999 Rotary Club of Raffles City, D3310, Singapore 
Friendship Club Agreement 
  •  2 Nov 2007 Rotary Club of Kanuma Central, D2550, Japan 
  •  25 Jan 2008 Rotary Club of Kanagawa East, D2590, Japan 
  •  20 Nov 2014 Rotary Club of Bali Denpasar, D3420, Indonesia 
  •  18 Mar 2015 Rotary Club of Marikina, D3800, Philippines 
  •  3 Nov 2019 Rotary Club of Daejeon Mindlele, D3680, Korea